
As most of you are aware, the 5th Harry Potter was released a few
weeks ago. I was quite excited to go and watch it. Ok, understatement.
I was dying to go and watch it! But first, I had to speed-read through
the 7th and last HP book. Couldn't risk anyone giving the ending away.
I avoided any moderately literate people for 3 days straight.
I was off early on a Thursday afternoon, so on the spur of
the moment I decided to watch the Harry Potter in IMAX 3D.
Bigger is better, right? And if that bigger is 3D, well. What more
can a girl ask for?
I was just in time for the movie, so there was no time to ask
for instructions. It seemed simple enough. Put glasses on.
Watch movie. I picked up my oversized pair of 3D glasses at the door.
The plastic kind, with a nice thick black frame, one lense red and the
other green. I was ready.
As soon as I put them on, I knew instinctively that I looked like
'The Fly'. None of this mattered, however. It was Harry Potter
and it was 3D.
Two thirds through the movie, I was having serious issues about
3D not being all it was cracked up to be. I even had to pay more
for the movie ticket, dammit! Surely, things had to at least look
a bit, well, three-dimensional?
And then, realisation dawned, or rather it struck me square between
the eyes. The start of the 15 minute 3D segment of the movie was
indicated by the pair of glasses flashing on the screen. As in 'ok people,
put on your fly-goggles now'.
Oh right. Oh no. I sank down a bit lower in my chair and then tried
to glance surreptitiously to my left and right. Was I the only idiot who
had had my 3D specs on throughout the entire movie? It would
seem so. Eish.
If someone asks me now what I thought of the HP movie, I reply:
'Oh, it was great! Loved it! Saw the ENTIRE movie in 3D, wouldn't
you know?'
